Introducing 2015’s Champions of Business

In 2005, the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce initiated a Business Hall of Fame to recognise business leaders who had made lifetime contributions, through business and corporate social activities, to the development of Trinidad and Tobago. While this was well appreciated and the event grew in stature over the next nine years, the Chamber recognised the need to also acknowledge individuals and companies that were in the process of taking risks and being game changers in Business. Two additional categories were therefore introduced in 2014 – namely “Emerging Entrepreneur” and “Internationally Known…T&T Owned.” This year, we have partnered with EY (formerly Ernst and Young) for exclusive investment to re-launch the Entrepreneur of the Year™ – part of the prominent international brand of the same name. Out of more than twenty nominations received in the subcategories of Emerging Entrepreneur and Master Entrepreneur, EY identified seven individuals as finalists. For EY Emerging Entrepreneur, they are: Christian and David Stone of More Vino Limited; Marcus Sun Kow of Fresh Start Limited and Lisa Wickham of Imagine Media International Limited.

The EY Master Entrepreneur finalists include: Michael Aboud of Amalgamated Security Services Limited; Derek Chin of The Dachin Group of Companies; Dominic Hadeed of Blue Waters Products Limited; and Mario Sabga-Aboud of Global Brands Limited. The winners will be announced in the exciting finale on November 7, with the individual copping Master Entrepreneur going on to compete in the Global Entrepreneur of the Year in Monte Carlo in June 2016.

The Kenson Group of Companies was selected by the TT Chamber’s distinguished panel of judges, as the winner of the 2015 Internationally Known…T&T Owned based on outstanding successes over more than twenty years.

Kenneth Ferguson rose from humble beginnings in Balandra in the 1950s to chart the course of one of Trinidad and Tobago’s most enterprising mediumsized businesses. Today, Kenson is an internationally reputable name that provides, among other services, a training school for the energy sector.

Kenson’s footprint will, we have no doubt, continue to be strong on both the local and international front.

The evening’s highlight will be the induction of two stalwarts of business into the prestigious Business Hall of Fame, in the persons of Bernard Dulal- Whiteway (posthumously) and Oscar H. Francois. They will join the exclusive ranks of 25 other business personalities inducted over the past decade who have displayed outstanding acumen, social consciousness and dedication to country.

The stories of all these individuals will be shared with an esteemed audience of present and past business leaders, senior state officials, diplomats and members of the media at the Champions of Business.

Following the mega-merger between Royal Dutch Shell Plc and BG Group Plc in 2014, we were pleased to have the President of Shell Oil Company, Marvin Odum accept our invitation to be the evening’s Feature Speaker, addressing the topic of “Strategic Leadership while Navigating Difficult Times”.

The TT Chamber takes great pleasure in growing the event from year to year.

For more information on registration contact the TT Chamber at 637 6966 extension 1252 or email sboodoo@


"Introducing 2015’s Champions of Business"

More in this section