First Citizens Sports Awards on Sunday

For the first time in living memory, the function will be staged on a Sunday, with 7.15 pm being the start time of the prestigious event.

President Anthony Carmona and Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith are among the dignitaries expected to attend the ceremony, which will feature the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, as well as the Jeffrey Stollmeyer Award (for the best administration) and the Lystra Lewis Award (for the team of the year).

Here are a list of the nominees for the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards – Male: Nigel Paul (boxing); Marc Gill (automobile sports); Alistair Espinoza (badminton); Kelton Thomas (bodybuilding); Satyam Maharaj (canoe/kayak); Kevin Cupid (chess); Darren Bravo (cricket); Njisane Phillip (cycling); Kenwyne Jones (football); Talin Rajendranath (golf); Andrey Rocke (hockey); Prayven Badrie (horse racing); Christopher George (judo); Edward Rajmoolie (karate); Akeem Stewart (paralympics); Adrian Brown (powerlifting); Donald Gopaul (rally); Agboola Silverthorn (rugby); Andrew Lewis (sailing); Roger Daniel (shooting); Kale Wilson (squash); George Bovell III (swimming); Aaron Wilson (table tennis); Edson Breedy (taekwondo); Parasan Ramsumair (target archery); Vaughn Wilson (tennis); Keshorn Walcott, Machel Cedenio (track and field); Jason Costelloe (triathlon); Fabien Whitfield (volleyball).

Female: Maria Partapsingh (automobile sports); Avril Plaza-Marcelle (badminton); Vanessa Hill (bodybuilding); Keian Huggins (canoe/kayak); Aditi Soondarsingh (chess); Britney Cooper (cricket); Jodi Goodridge (cycling); Arin King (football); Monifa Sealy (golf); Marisa Dick (gymnastics); Alanna Lewis (hockey); Dr Nicole Lambie (karate); Rhonda John-Davis (netball); Salisha Rahim (powerlifting); Ornella George (rugby); Kelly-Ann Arrindell (sailing); Marsha Bullen-Jones (shooting); Charlotte Knaggs (squash); Cherelle Thompson (swimming); Linda Partap-Boodhan (table tennis); Neela Cezair (target archery); Breana Stampfli (tennis); Cleopatra Borel (track and field); Jenna Ross (triathlon); Sinead Jack (volleyball).


"First Citizens Sports Awards on Sunday"

More in this section