Cato dropped from TT squad for indiscipline

TT coach Dennis Lawrence announced a 24-member team yesterday but, according to the media release issued by TT Football Association (TT FA) media officer Shaun Fuentes, “Cato was released due to disciplinary reasons”.

Efforts to reach Fuentes for a comment over Cato’s exclusion proved futile up to press time last evening but, according to a story on top local sports website, the 24-yearold Cato, who plays for San Jose Earthquakes in the American MLS (Major League Soccer), was omitted due to an alleged breach of team rules.

The local-based players were involved in a 12-day camp in Colorado, where they were joined by the US and overseas-based contingent.

However, strikers Willis Plaza and Akeem Roach, as well as midfielder Jomal Williams, have returned to TT due to injuries while a hamstring strain has ruled out teenaged Dutch-based winger Levi Garcia.

Lawrence said he was anticipating the forthcoming days of preparations with his full compliment of players ahead of Thurday’s fixture.

“We arrived here on May 23rd to begin a training camp with the objective of getting acclimatised with the players available to us and I am able to say that we were able to get in some proper training which allowed me and the coaching staff to get a good impression of how the players would react under the conditions here,” said Lawrence. “The players have responded positively with a good attitude and the spirit in the camp has been good with everyone having a proper understanding as to why we are here.” Lawrence, the former TT central defender, continued, “Now we are under a week away from the match and we should have the full squad together from (yesterday) evening and (today) we will begin the final leg of preparations.

We are heading into it in a positive frame of mind and ready to focus all our energies into ensuring we prepare as best as possible for what is ahead of us.” TT squad: Jan Michael Williams, Marvin Phillip, Adrian Foncette (goalkeepers); Carlos Edwards, Aubrey David, Alvin Jones, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Mekeil Williams, Triston Hodge, Sheldon Bateau, Daneil Cyrus, Curtis Gonzales (defenders); Joevin Jones, Andre Boucaud, Kevan George, Hashim Arcia, Khaleem Hyland, Leston Paul,Kevin Molino, Hughtun Hector, Nathan Lewis (midfielders); Shahdon Winchester, Jamille Boatswain, Kenwyne Jones (strikers).


"Cato dropped from TT squad for indiscipline"

More in this section