N Touch
Sunday 18 August 2019
follow us

Rikki Jai wins $500,000

It was a small crowd who cheered on Rikki Jai, the winner of the Independence Chutney Soca Monarch crown and a $500,000 prize at Skinner Park, San Fernando, on Saturday night.

Jai (Samraj Jaimungal) emerged from a huge red heart to deliver his patriotic chutney selection entitled “Mother Trinbago”.

He gave a tremendous performance as he was accompanied by scores of dancers and actors on stage. He sang words of the song in a groovy style, “I love you so, I will never let you go, “We (get) freedom from slavery, freedom for unity”.

In his second appearance on stage he performed his mega hit song “Mor Tor” to win the competition.

It was a sea of red, white and black and each singer in this competition displayed the colours of the national flag to drive home their messages. The competition was sponsored by the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism to mark TT’s 50th Anniversary of Independence.

Produced by Southex, the competition saw artistes displaying their skills in performing patriotic songs.

The energetic Sally Sagram who took the second prize of $250,000 sang “Happy Independence” with a huge group of dancers. She appeared again for her second song, “Go So Nah”. Former Chutney Soca Monarch Rooplal Girdharie placed third winning $150,000. Seven other contestants took home $50,000 in cash for appearing in the finals. They all used huge props and dancers to portray their songs on stage.

According to the CEO of Southex, George Singh, the singers created history by delivering the best repertoire of songs ever for a chutney soca competition in TT.

“We heard original songs that each had a powerful and positive message for the citizens of this country,” Singh said.

Minister of Housing Dr Roodal Moonilal and chairman of Caribbean Airlines, Ravindra Moonan accompanied San Fernando Mayor Navi Muradali on stage to bring greetings on behalf of the Government.

Southex created a Carnival atmosphere with tassa drumming and performances by the bands JMC 3Veni and Melobugz Music Machine.

Independence Chutney
Soca Monarch
1. Rikki Jai (Samraj Jaimungal)
2. Sally Sagram
3. Rooplal Girdharie
4. KI (Kris Persad)
5. Kenneth Supersad
6. Drupatie Ramgoonai
7. Mohip Poonwassie
8. Artie Butkoon
9. Ramdeen Falco Maharaj
10. Soca Elvis (Michael Salloum)


Reply to "Rikki Jai wins $500,000"