Just In
Golconda man to be charged with manslaughter Search in Balandra forest for man feared murdered Destra honoured by PoS corporation Paula Mae Weekes is President-elect Relatives say slain teen got caught up in gangster lifestyle
follow us
N Touch
Saturday 20 January 2018

UWI lecturers join Caricom Commission

ARTICLES 171 and 172 of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas Establishing the Caribbean Community Including the Caricom Single Market and Economy (the Treaty) provide for the establishment and composition of the Caribbean Community (Caricom) Competition Commission.

The Commission comprises seven members who are appointed by the Regional Judicial and Legal Services Commission (RJLSC) and the RJLSC is mandated to appoint a Chairman from among these members.

Pursuant to the Treaty, the RJLSC invited applications for the position of Commissioner of the Caricom Competition Commission (Commission). Applications were received from persons within the advertised time limit and 21 persons were short listed for interview from these. Seven persons were selected.


Dr. Kusha Haraksingh, (Trin-idad and Tobago)

Dr Haraksingh is an economist, historian and lawyer. He is the Head of the Department of History, UWI, St Augustine. He holds a BA in History and an LLB from the University of London and a PhD in Economic History. He is the Lead Negotiator for Legal and Institutional Issues for Cariforum/EPA negotiations and the Lead Consultant, Sugar Association of the Caribbean.

Dr Haraksingh is an Associate Fellow of the Institute of International Relations, UWI


Patterson Keith Herman Cheltenham, QC (Barbados)

Mr Cheltenham is an attorney-at-law and Queen’s Counsel with extensive experience in Insurance Law, Administrative Law, Labour Law and the Law of Trusts and specialised training in Taxation, Company Law and Insurance Law. He holds the Master of Laws and is a member of the Bars of Barbados, St Lucia and St.Vincent.

Dr Trevor Michael Augustine Farrell (Trinidad and Tobago)

Dr Farrell is an economist, business consultant and senior Lecturer in Economics at UWI, St Augustine. He holds a PhD in Economics and has over 15 years experience as a consultant in various fields including agro-industry, airport management, banking, export development, public utilities, tourism, oil and gas and stock exchange operations. Dr Farrell’s career to date has spanned business, government, academia and international organisations.

Hans Rudolf Lim A Po (Suriname).

Mr Lim A Po is the Rector-Dean of the FHR Lim A Po Institute for Social Studies. His expertise includes economics, law, competition policy and practice, management and governance. He holds the Master of Laws degree from the University of Leyden in the Netherlands and has lectured in law at the University of Suriname. His majors were Civil and Corporate Law and Corporate Finance.

Dr Maureen Paul (Dominica)

Dr Paul is an economist. She holds a PhD in Economics from Warwick University and a Postgraduate certificate in Competition Policy. She is an Economic Advisor to the UK Office of Fair Trading working on competition policy in the UK and European Union markets.

She focuses on applied micro and macro-economics and in particular applied micro econometrics.

She specialises in transfer pricing and has managed several global transfer pricing projects involving multiple countries.

Dr Barton Umax Adolphus Scotland (Guyana)

Dr Scotland is an Attorney-at-law with a private practice in the areas of National Resources and Investment Law, Negotiations and International Law. He holds a Master of Laws degree and a PhD in International Law. He is a member of the Bars of Guyana, Barbados, St Kitts and Nevis and England and Wales.

Ambassador AB Stewart Step-henson (Jamaica)

Ambassador Stephenson is the General Manager of the Factories Corporation of Jamaica. His fields of expertise are finance, law, competition policy and practice and international trade. He is an attorney-at-law and holds both a BSc degree in Management Studies and an LLB from the University of the West Indies.

He has been both Jamaica’s Consul General to Toronto and Jamaica’s Ambassador to Cuba and has lectured on Securities at the Jamaican Institute of Mana-gement.

The Commissioners are appo-inted for a period of five years and their appointments may be renewed for a further period of up to five years.

The Country of The Seat of the Caricom Competition Comm-ission is Suriname and the Commissioners will be sworn in at the inauguration of the Commission in Paramaribo, Suriname on January 18.


Reply to this story


Amcham’s Budget wishlist

They are Debt Management; Ease of Doing Business; Digital Transformation; Energy Sector Policy; Diversification; and