TTCB president condemns NCC clip

The photos showed dilapidated portions of the Sir Frank Worrell Development Centre, Balmain, Couva, where the national cricket team held a pre-Caribbean T20 camp.

Bassarath was speaking on Friday evening at the Couva venue, during the joint staging of the TTCB/National Gas Company (NGC)-sponsored Cricket Academy Graduation, and the Board’s end-of-year get-together.

“Many of you may have seen a recent television clip showing this Centre in a negative light,” said Bassarath. “After ten years of usage, after contributing for ten years to the development of every national cricketer, some of those who benefitted feel better to criticise.

“We’re aware that maintenance work is sorely needed and late last year, I publicly stated that we were spending $1 million to refurbish our Balmain facility,” the TT cricket head continued. “We have started this work at the Alloy Lequay Administration Centre but the television station failed to report this.

“Also on the positive side, our Minister of Sport (Anil Roberts) publicly announced his understanding of the need for maintenance work and pledged his full support to have the Balmain facility, including this, the Sir Frank Worrell Development Centre, fully refurbished and brought up to a standard to accommodate regional and international cricket.”

Bassarath stressed, “Minister Roberts, we are grateful for your support and look forward to working with you in the best interest of cricket.

“What we need is positive collaboration between the State, the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board and the private sector.”

Bassarath, on the other side of the coin, expressed his gratitude towards his administrative staff and the clubs throughout the country for maintaining a high level of excellence.

Turning his attention towards the sponsors, the TTCB boss noted, “thanks to NGC, BGTT, the Sports Company of Trinidad and Tobago, Digicel, Atlantic LNG, Powergen and the West Indies Cricket Board, all the development sponsors. Our game is alive and well and growing.”

Also speaking at the event were Kumar Rampat, the Board’s technical development officer; and Janet Elias, corporate communications manager at NGC.

A total of 17 players featured in the Academy, with 13 collecting plaques and cheques valued at $500 for 100-percent attendance records – Jeremy Solozano, Jovan Ali, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Vikash Mohan, Isaiah Rajah, Nyron Motilal, Ewart Nicholson, Vishal Naipaul, Philton Williams, Andy Gobin, Adrian Cooper and Mark Deyal. Clinton Changar and Anthony Simmons were rewarded with plaques for a minimum of 85 percent attendance, while the other participants in the Academy were Tevin Robinson and Brian Christmas.

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago T20 cricket team were in attendance, along with current TTCB officials Patrick Rampersad, Ann Browne-John and chief executive officer Suruj Ragoonath.

And three former TTCB presidents were also at the event — Alloy Lequay, Ellis Lewis and Deryck Murray.

Other Awards –

Most Improved Inductee: Vishal Naipaul

Inductee with Best Journal: Andy Gobin

Most Research in a Journal: Isaiah Rajah

Most Outstanding Bowler: Khary Pierre

Most Outstanding Batsman: Ewart


Person who best embodies Spirit of

Academy: Jeremy Solozano

Most Outstanding Participant:

Vikash Mohan


"TTCB president condemns NCC clip"

More in this section