N Touch
Wednesday 16 October 2019
follow us

Local UNESCO commission appointed

TT National Commission for UNESCO has been called on to match the Ministry of Education’s transformation programme by Education Minister, Dr Tim Gopeesingh.

Gopeesingh on Wednesday said his Ministry “has undertaken a revolutionary transformation in every sphere from Early Childhood Education Care (ECCE) to the laptop for all secondary school children programme.”

“It will now fall to the members of the National Commission to ensure (it) matches and complements these changes and progressive development.”

Gopeesingh, who is president of the commission by virtue of his ministerial education portfolio, presented the new commissioners with their instruments of appointment at a ceremony to also honour the outgoing commissioners.

Gopeesingh said he had to search “deep and wide” to get representatives who would bring fresh ideas to the table. Cabinet, he said approved the nominations without making any changes.

More than ever, he said that there is a demand for performance, efficiency, cost effectiveness, delivery of service, accountability and transparency.

Failure to live up to these expectations, he said, “often results in rapid condemnation as far as state boards and institutions are concerned. Dr Kris Rampersad heads the new 21-member commission. The commissioners are appointed for a four-year term.

Members are Shayphan Smith, Jacinta Bailey-Sobers, Dr Grace Sirju-Charran, Laura-Marie West, Ingrid Ryan Ruben, Dr Avril Siung Chang, Alfred Aguiton, Maureen Manchouck, Marcia Riley, Elizabeth Crouch, Dr Sandra Gift and Annette Wallace.

Representatives of other “key stakeholders” are Leseli Daaga, Imam Iqubal Hydal, Vashti Singh, Khemraj Pundit, Reynold Ramlogan and Irving Hoosaine. Ex-officio member is Secretary General Susan Shurland.


Reply to "Local UNESCO commission appointed"


Amcham’s Budget wishlist

They are Debt Management; Ease of Doing Business; Digital Transformation; Energy Sector Policy; Diversification; and…